SOLITUDE…

Let’s talk about just one of the so many underrated things in Life.

Solitude

I had to look this word up, because I had no idea what to call “time spent alone”.  I usually used to refer to it as “alone time” when conversing with friends.

In my opinion, solitude is  way underrated. A lot of people here on the internet appreciate it less, but talking on a world scale, people tend to imagine solitude as a sign of depression. NO! It’s NOT! Depression is a very deep state, and solitude can be a part of it, but not a sign of it. Trust me, I’ve been there. You are happy a second and the next thing you know you feel hollow. Like something from the depths of the dark side has come in and sat inside the chambers of your heart, denying to let you go, to leave you alone. It just feels hollow, unlike solitude.

“Loneliness is the poverty of self, solitude is the richness of self.”

solitudeis650

Being alone, you experience some of the best times of your life. Think of it this way.

When you’re with someone, you talk or play or sing or do whatever fun stuff. You might discuss ideas, or  bitch about others. Talk about movies, the books you read, the sport you follow, the kind of music you like, the band you dance your ass off to, the person you look up to, things you’re good at, things you’re bad at,just things in general. In the process, you bond with the other respective being. This bond turns into friendship. Gradually, you discover that s/he is one of the best people in your life.

But when you’re alone,  you talk or play or sing or do whatever fun stuff, but with yourself. Talk about movies to yourself, the books you read, the sport you follow, the kind of music you like, the band you dance your ass off to, the person you look up to, things you’re good at, things you’re bad at, just things in general. Talk, but to yourself. In the process, you bond with yourself.  You discover yourself. You won’t understand just how important it is for one to know WHO HE IS? When you discover your true self, you naturally get a clearer view of what you want? And what makes you happy?

solitude_by_isacgoulart-d650gxj

I love my solitude. I’ve been enjoying it for quite some time now. But I don’t claim that I have discovered what I want? But I’ll say this. I’ve become a lot more tolerant towards things I disliked before, realizing that it really doesn’t matter to me. I’ve started respecting everybody, because as I am, everybody else also is, different. Just existing cannot be a crime. I’ve had rough times through my teenage years. I used to be a violent kid. People used to run to my mother and shout their complaints against me at her. My mother took to violence to stop my violent actions. But she used to cry every time she hit me. That’s when I understood what a Mother is.

410a8271bfdbc009579a6983f1e4a7d7-800x533x1

My father locked me up several times. In such times, I contemplated a lot about the actions that put me in that closed room. Every argument I buried in me were now an open book to myself. All the unsettled disputes I had within me that I avoided were now forming themselves before my eyes. One after the other, I looked into all of such disputes within me. And then the most common outcome of all this was absolutely Nothing! And then I understood that walking back is ALWAYS an option. Walking Back is what a wise man does, and an Idiot is he who uses force; I was one. But I found Solitude. Solitude is the answer the world seems to ignore.

solitude1

PEACE!

Leave a Reply

